The Clyde catchment

The River Clyde, at 170 km, is the third longest river in Scotland. The catchment has a surface area of 3,200 km (of which 26.3 km is freshwater lochs and reservoirs), and a total river length of 4,244 km. We work across the catchment in eight Council areas (East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow City, Inverclyde, North Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, South Lanarkshire and West Dunbartonshire) and these are home to 33.8% of Scotland’s human population.

Clyde catchment facts

  • Home to 1.79 million people (33.8% of Scotland’s human population)
  • 4,224 km of rivers
  • 26.3 km2 of freshwater lochs and reservoirs 
  • 33 species of freshwater fish
  • 67% of water bodies at “less than good status” under the European Water Framework Directive
  • No District Salmon Fishery Board (DSFB) so no statutory body overseeing fish and fisheries issues

Where are the Upper and Lower Clyde catchments?

For fishery management purposes, the Clyde River Foundation partitions the Clyde system into the Upper and Lower sub-catchments. The upstream limit of access to migratory fish in the River Clyde is Stonebyres Falls near Lanark. This is therefore an appropriate partition between what we consider to be the Upper and Lower Clyde sub-catchments.

The map below shows the extent of the River Clyde catchment.

View Clyde River Foundation – fishery management area in a larger map